You are currently viewing The National Seafood Industry Awards 2022 Winners Announced

The National Seafood Industry Awards 2022 Winners Announced

The winners of the 2022 National Seafood Industry Awards and Hall of Fame inductees have been announced as part of the National Seafood Industry Awards gala dinner, held as the final event of the Seafood Directions Conference at the Sofitel Brisbane Central on Thursday, September 15, 2022.
“We are proud to announce the winners of the 2022 National Seafood Industry Awards and the Hall of Fame inductees,” Seafood Industry Australia CEO Veronica Papacosta said. 
“The Awards showcase the best of the best in the Australian seafood industry. Recognising our fishers, aquaculturists, retailers, suppliers, restaurateurs, individuals, and businesses.
“The National Seafood Industry Awards recognise all aspects of the Australian seafood industry, from water to plate. We’re proud of the individuals and organisations that work hard to underpin Australia’s global reputation as a producer of premium, sustainable seafood.
“The Awards recognise 12 categories honouring the Australian seafood industry’s top achievers for their professionalism, exceptional quality product, contribution to the economy, and commitment to supplying the best seafood to local, national, and international markets.
“We are honoured to induct 13 industry greats into the Hall of Fame. These individuals have made a substantial positive difference to the seafood industry over many years, shown outstanding personal and professional leadership qualities, and are highly respected throughout the seafood industry. Tonight we acknowledge, celebrate and thank them for their contribution to the industry and tireless work to support Australia’s great seafood.” 
National Seafood Industry Awards – 2022 winners

Primary Producer – sponsored by Fish in the Family 

Wallis Lake Fishermen’s Co-operative, NSW

Business (Large) – sponsored by NatPos

Debbie’s Seafoods, QLD

Business (Small) – sponsored by NatPos

Malanda Seafood, QLD

Safety – sponsored by Austral
Huon Aquaculture, TAS

Research, Development and Extension – sponsored by Fisheries Research Development Corporation

Australian Council of Prawn Fisheries, Australian Prawn Farmers’ Association, Curtin University and  Source Certain, QLD

Environment – sponsored by OceanWatchNSW

Department of Primary Industries, NSW

People and Development – sponsored by Skills Impact

Women in Seafood Australasia, WA

Promotion – sponsored by Queensland Seafood Marketers Association

Shark Bay Prawn Trawler Operators Associationon behalf of the Australian Council of Prawn Fisheries (ACPF), WA

Restaurant – sponsored by Great Australian Seafood

Pearl and Co., TAS

Fish and Chip Awards – sponsored by Great Australian Seafood

Tasmanian Gourmet Seafoods, TAS

Young Achiever – sponsored by Affectus

Siobhan Threlfall, NSW

Industry Ambassador – sponsored by Australian Fisheries Management Authority

George Kailis, WA
Hall of Fame inductees
  • Former Senator the Hon. Ron Boswell, QLD
  • Mr George Raptis (posthumous), QLD
  • The Mure Family, TAS
  • Mr Allen Hansen (posthumous), TAS
  • Mr Chris Calogeras, NT
  • Mr Bob Richards, NT
  • Mr George Kailis, WA
  • Mr Brett McCallum, WA
  • Mr Geoff Blackburn, NSW
  • Mr Jim Raptis, SA
  • Mr Garry Hera-Singh, SA
  • Mr Peter Bender, TAS
  • Ms Francis Bender, TAS